• Gospel TV & Film

    Bay Area Native Produces ‘BLACK NATIVITY’ Movie Soundtrack



    Grammy Award winning eclectic artist/record producer, and Oakland native, Raphael Saadiq serves as the Executive Producer for the soundtrack to Fox Searchlight Pictures holiday musical drama BLACK NATIVITY. Music From The Motion Picture Black Nativity,  features Gospel classics and brand new songs performed by award winning cast members Forest Whitaker, Angela Bassett, Jennifer Hudson, Jacob Latimore, Tyrese Gibson, Mary J. Blige and Nasir “Nas” Jones, and is is being released on RCA Inspiration.

    bn4 main

    Music From The Motion Picture Black Nativity is available online and in stores now.

    I loved the experience of working on this film with Kasi Lemons, she is a special friend and talent” said Saadiq, “I most enjoyed the opportunity to work with all the actors and the incredible vocals of Mary J. Blige, Jennifer Hudson, Tyrese Gibson, Jacob Latimore and Luke James. I’ll also remember for the rest of my life watching Forest Whitaker and Angela Bassett sing.

    In a contemporary adaptation of Langston Hughes’ celebrated play, the Kasi Lemmons-directed holiday musical drama BLACK NATIVITY follows Langston (Jacob Latimore), a street-wise teen from Baltimore raised by a single mother, as he journeys to New York City to spend the Christmas holiday with his estranged relatives Reverend Cornell and Aretha Cobbs (Forest Whitaker and Angela Bassett). Unwilling to live by the imposing Reverend Cobbs’ rules, a frustrated Langston is determined to return home to his mother, Naima (Jennifer Hudson). Langston embarks on a surprising and inspirational journey and along with new friends, and a little divine intervention, he discovers the true meaning of faith, healing, and family.

    Music From The Motion Picture Black Nativity track listing:

    1. Be Grateful – Forest Whitaker & Jennifer Hudson
    2. Coldest Town* – Jacob Latimore
    3. Test Of Faith* – Jennifer Hudson
    4. Motherless Child – Jacob Latimore feat. Nas
    5. Hush Child (Get You Through This Silent Night) – Jennifer Hudson, Luke James, Grace Gibson & Jacob Latimore
    6. He Loves Me Still* – Angela Bassett & Jennifer Hudson
    7. Can’t Stop Praising His Name – Forest Whitaker
    8. Sweet Little Jesus Boy – Tyrese
    9. Rise Up Shepherd and Follow – Mary J. Blige & Nas
    10. Fix Me Jesus – Jennifer Hudson
    11. Jesus On the Mainline – Forest Whitaker
    12. As – Cast

    *New original song.

    BLACK NATIVITY will be released nationwide Thanksgiving Day, November 27

    {Bay Area Screening Opportunity} http://www.eventbrite.com/event/9161124169/

    You Might Also Like

    No Comments

      Leave a Reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.