• Community Inspiration News

    National Steering Committee Announced for Occupy the Dream

    Dr. Benjamin Chavis and Reverend Dr. Jamal Bryant released the names of the Occupy the Dream National Steering Committee and the local community organizers who will lead the demonstrations on January 16, 2012 at all 13 Federal Reserve Banks. 

    National Day of Action on January 16. 13 Cities. Occupy the Federal Reserve!

    When: January 16, 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
    Where:  The Federal Reserve Bank closest to you

    Washington, D.C.  Atlanta  Boston  Chicago  Cleveland  Dallas  Kansas City Minneapolis  New York  Philadelphia  Richmond  San Francisco  St. Louis 

    The effort will be led by prominent members of the African American Clergy, Occupy Wall Street participants, students and others concerned about income inequality and economic justice in America.

    National Steering Committee

    Executive Committee

    Dr. Benjamin Chavis Jr., Manhattan – Co-Chairman
    Dr. Jamal Bryant, Baltimore – Co-Chair
    Bishop Millicent Thompson-Hunter, Philadelphia – Secretary
    Pastor Daryl Hamm, Baltimore – Treasurer
    Pastor Harold Mayberry, Oakland, CA (First African Methodist Episcopal) – Parliamentarian


    Members at large

    Pastor Frederick Douglas Haynes – Dallas, TX
    Bishop Rudolph Mckissick – Jacksonville, FL
    Bishop David Evans- Lindenwood, NJ
    Rev. Dr. Carroll Baltimore – President, Progressive National Baptist Convention
    Bishop Dennis Proctor – A.M.E. Zion-Western District
    Bishop Vashti McKenzie – Nashville, TN
    Rev. Dr. Otis Moss Jr. – Cleveland, OH
    Pastor Herb Crump- Rock Hill, SC
    Pastor John Hunter, Los Angeles, CA*
    Pastor Marcellus Norris, Cambridge, MA*
    Pastor Alan Waller – Philadelphia, PA*
    Pastor Joseph Williams – Atlanta, GA*
    Bishop Mitchell Taylor – Philadelphia, PA
    Pastor Lance Watson – Richmond, VA*
    Pastor Allen Waller, Philadelphia, PA
    Bishop Darryl Scott – Cleveland, OH*
    Pastor Otis Moss III – Chicago, IL*
    Pastor Boyd McDaniels III – Georgetown, SC
    Pastor Darryl Hill – Brooklyn, NY*

    * Coordinator of local organizing committee

    About Occupy the Dream

    Occupy the Dream is an organization led by, Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis Jr. and Rev. Dr. Jamal Bryant of the Empowerment Temple Church. Chavis was the North Carolina State Youth Coordinator of SCLC under Dr. King and has worked closely with Hip-Hop impresario Russell Simmons in recent years. Reverend Bryant is the Pastor of Empowerment Temple in Baltimore, a growing church with a congregation of over 10,000.

    Go to www.occupydream.org

    You Might Also Like

    No Comments

      Leave a Reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.